Aluminium

Due to its low density, aluminium is more than 60 % lighter than iron. The low weight makes this material very interesting for constructions in vehicle and aircraft construction, which have to weigh as less as possible but still need a high degree of stability and a competitive price level.

Aluminium

Aluminium plate is not only light, it is also a rather soft metal, which can be easily formed and machined. Despite these properties, aluminium plate metals are very stiff and give constructions high stability. At Rime, aluminium plates are regularly processed.

Laser processing of aluminium

At first glance, aluminium should be easier to cut by laser, even in higher material thicknesses. Although aluminium is softer than steel, the exact opposite is the case regarding laser cutting. Molten aluminium surfaces have optical characteristics that resemble the reflectivity of an old mirror. Depending on the purity of the metal, the degree of reflection reaches values up to 85 %. Due to these reflections, cutting of aluminium is much more energy-intensive, because the reflection reduces the effectiveness of a laser beam a lot.

Laserteile aus Aluminium

The high thermal conductivity of the metal also reduces the performance. A part of the energy is transferred to the surrounding material, which limits the maximum material thickness for laser cutting to about 15 mm.

Bending of aluminium plates

Bending of aluminium plates is possible without any problems if a few special requirements are taken into account. Bending can be carried out on conventional press brakes. It is only necessary to ensure that the bending radius does not fall below twice the thickness of the material. Furthermore, the aluminium plate should be bent at right angles to the direction of rolling, because this allows the tightest bending radii. The special material properties allow longer bending of thicker plate metals compared to steel.

Aluminium as alloying element

Aluminium is also used as an alloying element in steel production. Aluminium and nitrogen form nitrides, which increase the hardness of nitriding steels. It also improves fine grain formation.

The influence of aluminum on the mechanical properties of steel:

Property Influence Degree
Rust resistance no bearing 0
Hardness no bearing 0
Strength no bearing 0
Yield strength no bearing 0
Elasticity no bearing 0
Heat resistance no bearing 0
Carbide formation no bearing 0
Wear resistance no bearing 0
Nitratability Improvement + 3
Strain no bearing 0
Reduction of area Decrease - 1
Notched Impact Strength Decrease - 1
Forgeability Decrease - 2
Scaling Decrease - 2
Machinability no bearing 0

Trivia

Aluminium is extracted from the ore bauxite and does not occur in pure form in nature. Due to its complicated production, 150 years ago aluminium was more valuable than gold. The royal families loved it. Napoleon III of France owned a set of tableware made of aluminium, which only he and a few selected guests were allowed to use for dining. The other guests had to settle for knives and forks made of gold. At that time aluminium was also cast into ingots and stored in treasure chambers.

See also

Bauxite

Here you can find out why aluminium was discovered so late and how aluminium can be produced.

Read more
Carbon

The carbon concentration influences the hardness of steels. In this way, the right steel can be found for every application.

Read more
Chromium

Chromium is one of the most important alloying elements and improves the rust resistance and hardness of a steel.

Read more

We use cookies on our website. Some are essential, while others help us to improve our online services.

You can either agree to use all cookies directly or click on the "Settings" button to agree or decline the use of cookies.

Aluminium

Aluminium ist aufgrund seiner geringen Dichte etwa 50 % leichter als Eisen. Das geringe Gewicht macht diesen Werkstoff sehr interessant für Konstruktionen im Fahrzeug- und Flugzeugbau, die nicht viel wiegen und trotzdem ein hohes Maß an Stabilität aufweisen.

Aluminiumblech ist nicht nur leicht, es ist auch ein recht weiches Metall, welches sich hervorragend umformen und zerspanen lässt. Trotz dieser Eigenschaften sind Bleche aus Aluminium sehr steif und verleihen Konstruktionen hohe Stabilität. Bei Rime werden regelmäßig Aluminiumbleche verarbeitet.

Laserbearbeitung von Aluminium

Auf dem ersten Blick sollte Aluminium einfacher und auch in dickeren Materialstärken per Laser zugeschnitten werden können. Obwohl Aluminium weicher ist als Stahl, ist genau der Gegenteil der Fall. Glatte Aluminiumoberflächen haben optische Eigenschaften, die dem Reflektionsgrad eines alten Spiegels ähneln. Je nach Reinheitsgrad des Metalls erreicht der Reflektionsgrad etwa 75 – 85 %. Beim Aluminium ist dieser Vorgang viel energieaufwendiger, da der Reflektionsgrad die Wirkung sehr stark reduziert.

Ebenfalls leistungsmindernd wirkt sich die hohe Wärmeleitfähigkeit des Metalls aus. Ein Teil der Energie wird in das umgebende Material abgegeben, was die maximale Materialdicke auf 15 mm begrenzt.

Abkanten von Aluminiumblechen

Das Abkanten von Aluminiumblechen ist unter Beachtung einiger Besonderheiten problemlos möglich. Das Biegen kann an den herkömmlichen Abkantpressen vorgenommen werden. Es ist lediglich darauf zu achten, dass der Biegeradius den Wert der doppelten Materialstärke nicht unterschreitet. Weiterhin sollte das Aluminiumblech quer zur Walzrichtung gebogen werden, da so die engsten Biegeradien möglich sind. Die besonderen Materialeigenschaften ermöglichen längere Abkantungen von dickeren Blechen als es bei Stahl möglich ist.

Aluminium als Legierungselement

Aluminium wird auch als Legierungselement bei der Stahlherstellung eingesetzt. Aluminium und Stickstoff bilden Nitride, welche die Härte von Nitrierstählen erhöht. Es verbessert außerdem die Feinkornbildung.

Trivia

Aluminium wird aus dem Erz Bauxit gewonnen und kommt in der Natur nicht in reiner Form vor. Aufgrund der komplizierten Herstellung war Aluminium vor 150 Jahren wertvoller als Gold. Die Königshäuser waren verrückt danach. Napoleon III. von Frankreich besaß ein Essbesteck aus Aluminium, mit dem nur er und ausgewählte Gäste speisen durften. Die anderen Gäste mussten sich mit Messern und Gabeln aus Gold zufrieden geben. Zu dieser Zeit wurde Aluminium auch zu Barren gegossen und in Schatzkammern aufbewahrt.

See also

Brinar

BRINAR ist ein verschleißfester Stahl welcher an mechanisch stark beanspruchten Stellen zum Einsatz kommt.

Read more
Creusabro

CREUSABRO ist ein Hartstahl, der starken mechanischen Belastungen standhält. Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen!

Read more
Duplexstahl

Duplexstahl ist enorm robust, hält Salzwasser stand, ist extrem fest und trotzdem sehr gut umformbar.

Read more

Wir setzen auf unserer Website Cookies ein. Einige sind essentiell, während andere uns helfen unser Onlineangebot zu verbessern.

Sie können entweder direkt zustimmen oder per Klick auf die Schaltfläche "Einstellungen vornehmen" der Verwendung von Cookies zustimmen oder diese ablehnen.